35th ACT Commencement Ceremony, 2018

35th ACT Commencement Ceremony, 2018

ACT's graduate and undergraduate students enjoyed a wonderful and emotional Commencement Ceremony on the 3rd of July at the outdoor amphitheater of ACT campus. The event marked the successful completion of demanding academic requirements leading the class of 2018 to degrees, academic awards, and distinctions for outstanding performance in extracurricular activities. In his opening remarks Dr. Stamos Karamouzis, ACT Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs stretched the institution’s role in educating a diverse student body within the framework of the Greek heritage and the principals of the American Liberal Arts education philosophy, and acknowledged the contribution and the deep commitment of the faculty to the core mission of the institution.  

This year’s keynote speaker was Dr. Zizi Papacharissi, Professor of Communication and Political Science and Head of Communication and University scholar at the University of Illinois, Chicago. Dr. Papacharissi (Anatolia High School alumna), was introduced by Markos Papageorgiou, Anatolia College Trustee and vice chair of the ACT Governance Board.

During her riveting and engaging speech Professor Papacharissi underlined the role of education, experience, and unexpected “happy accidents” that can lead to a fascinating life journey. Addressing “the stars of the evening”, as she described the class of 2018, she urged them: “Be modern. Be with your time. In your time. Of your time. In the present”. She marked that there is no success story that lasts forever, and added: “I hope you are uncertain about your future. Even though you are graduating from a college that is amazing at giving you what is needed to cope with uncertainty and excel”, and wished them to stay ambivalent, curious and confident.

This year’s valedictorians were Sonja Coko (undergraduate) and Konstantinos Theodoridis (graduate). Dajana Thomai was the recipient of the William McGrew Award for Excellence in International Relations, Panagiota Petmeza received the Alki Kyriakidou-Nestoros Memorial Prize in the Liberal Arts, Christina Kalekidou received the George B. Zotiades Memorial Prize for Excellence in International Relations, Evagelia Theodoridou was honored with the President’s Distinction Award. Marija Korunoska received the Elizabeth Yfantis Demeter Award for Excellence in Business Administration.

The Teaching Excellence Award was given to Mr. Konstantinos Karagiannis, Instructor of Mathematics in the Division of Science and Technology.

One of the highlights of this year’s ACT Ceremony was the performance of ACT Choir “Bissell Singers” under the direction of the renowned conductor Alkistis Togia, accompanied by Elena Argalia in the piano.

ACT Commencement 2018



17 Sevenidi St.
55535, Pylaia
Thessaloniki, Greece
Tel. +30 2310 398398
P.O.Box 21021

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website